Currently Being Moderated

Common Standards - Ontology Definition Languages

A key aspect of defining, describing, locating, and understanding information behind the firewall, in information exchanges with partners, and in the ubiquitous web of tomorrow are the semantic-based enabling languages of Core Components. Resource Description Framework (RDF) and the Web Ontology Language (OWL). These languages combine to provide rules and mechanisms to formally describe and understand information content. These rules and mechanisms can be for humans, applications, or a combination of the two.

CCTS is focused on semantics at the data level for both human and application purposes, RDF is focused on defining information available in a web environment through assertions for application use and OWL provides mechanisms for creating a web ontology that enables machine understanding of vocabularies and the relationship between terms in those vocabularies.

Semantics, Ontologies, and Description Languages are critical to the SAP Enterprise Service Oriented Architecture. These topics ensure that our Enterprise SOA is capable of supporting next-generation services environment. Semantics of our internal data across development efforts means that our defined services are in fact capable of being called for the purpose that they are intended and the results of those service invocations are what was expected, and understandable, by the invoker of the service.


  Standards/Organizations Related to Ontology Definition Languages



Additional Common Standards

Delete Document

Are you sure you want to delete this document?