Articles can be blocked at basic level in article master ,here the requirement is to delete the article codes in SAP so that it should not display in Search items of MM43 /me21n while selecting the code.
If we delete it from table level I found that code is not displayed in search items.Kindly help me if we delete in table level will it be having any impact on generating a sales report .can it be suggested?
It is not recommended to delete any article normally if you are already having sales and procurement done for the articles. The best practice is to mark the article as blocked for procurement & Sales.
You can permanently delete the Article but if that article is having sales and othere transactions then it will
Affect all related transactions. And if there is no transactions / or newly created article then it will not have any major impact. I think it will help you or you can get back with any query related to this.
Thanks for reply.. I got your point that if we block at procurement and sales level it will not affect other transactions.
The current requirement is to hide the article in F4 search while making a purchase order for the user. Especially we are trying to delete the articles which are already blocked at basic level/ procurement and sales.
Please advise what happens if we delete for the sales data already existing?
Deletion of the article at table level (MARA) or archiving at MM71 is suggested ?
I understand your requirement that you don’t want to have set of articles in records/view list/F4
search option and permanently/physically deleted from system.
For this again remember the material has to have no material movement recorded like no open PR, PO, Production order,Reservation, Stock etc…. then using MM06 you can delete the article.
Usually the deletion process is system is works as follows
First the logical deletion takes place: the article is still in the system, but for all intents and purposes it is unavailable to users. The physical emoval of the data takes place only after a specified interval of time (e.g., 1 year) after the procedure is completed, for safety’s sake. (This time interval is set for each article type in Customizing.) Because this is such a severe action, you
should only do this if you are very sure that you wish to discontinue the article across the board (for example, if the article is no longer available from any vendor or if the manufacturer has stopped making the it).
For more details you can go to the link mentioned below.