cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem installing ActiveX viewer in Windows 7

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

We downloaded the public beta of Windows 7 today and I am getting an error in our web application when it tries to install the Crystal Reports XI ActiveX report viewer (version 11.0.0.1424 of crviewer.dll). IE8 will issue its normal prompt to ask you if you want to install the control, but after that, the little object image in the upper-left corner of the page turns to a red X.

I tried using the sample code which comes with Crystal XI (SimplePreviewReport.asp in the "BeginHere" folder) and that had the same problem. I put some debug code into SmartViewerActiveX.asp and found that I was getting an "ActiveX component can't create object" error on this line:

Set webBroker = CreateObject("CrystalReports11.WebReportBroker.1")

I don't think it's a security issue because I am an administrator on the machine and I didn't have any problems installing other ActiveX controls. I tried running the web site in both the Local Intranet zone as well as the Trusted Sites zone. I'm also thinking that the issue is more with Windows 7 than IE8 because I have IE8 Beta 2 installed on a Windows XP machine and the Crystal ActiveX viewer installs just fine there.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member200290
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Jay,

I am unsure of why it would not install. You can try to manually install the files on the client machine, from the server CAB files, however I am unsure if that will work. Other culprits may be DEP, UAC and fire wall. I know that you mentioned you are an administrator on the machine, however logging on as "Administrator" will give you elevated privileges over a user with admin-rights.

Once Windows 7 is finalized and the official build is released we will have a list of products compatible with Windows 7.

Trevor

Former Member
0 Kudos

Trevor,