cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use XML as data input for Crystal Report for Eclipse

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am completely new to crystal report and please kindly forgive me if I ask some stupid questions.

Actually, I have searched the forum for the topic and found some related threads, but I still want to

have some responses from crystal report experts on this issue.

Our developer tool is IBM RAD 7.0 and it has crystal reports tools installed in it. I want to use

crystal report to solve one of our business solutions. I have the following questions about the

feasbility of this solution:

(1). I need to specify data at runtime during report generation. I think using fixed data source

(for example, SQL query or Stored Procedure) may not fit our needs. I think if crystal report

can accept XML as input to generate reports at runtime, then it will be perfect. Can CR

use XML as data source as input?

(2). Actually, one of our business requirements is to generate a letter. Can CR do a report

layout such that a letter format can be achieved? If yes, would you let me know the

report layout name?

(3). We need to export the report into PDF format, I know CR can do PDF output. But can

CR be controlled to export this into bytes stream? Or the PDF must be saved into a

physical file?

(4) If I need to learn more about CR, which book will you recommend?

Thanks in advance for your advice,

Raymond

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Crystal Reports can use an XML datasource as input to the report. It is under the XML data connectivity in Crystal Reports Database dialog.

There are no letter templates in Crystal Reports but there would be no reason why you couldn't do a letter, the capability is there.

Exporting to byte stream can be done via one of the reporting SDK's available. For more information, have a look at the SDK Library at http://www.sdn.sap.com