Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP PORTAL

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am a SAP certified SD consultant

Can you please suggest how good it is to work in a supporing project involving SAP UI or portal at the front end instead of the SAP screens...Its all into complete customization.

Is this helpful for my career move

8 REPLIES 8

OttoGold
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

It would be a BIG switch in a career. Why: I understand you´re working as SD con, that means functional, right?

But the portal stuff, that is the technical part. Java Connectors, administrations, iView, packages, publishing, authorizations and all that stuff. I would love to know some portal basics, but since that is technical a lot and needs some practise (which one can achieve through days and days of cliking around in the portal), I was not able to find a combination suitable for a start:

- you need a portal (what is not available for trial download I believe)

- you need to be the big banana regarding the authorization - a portal admin to "get" the stuff

- you need to have some integration and basis knowledge

- you need to know about the SAP standard content for the portal and how to develop a new content

- of course there are always some tricky things you cannot learn before they happen, like portal roles synchronization, connection betwenen the portal and the BW and some other fancy stuff.

Why did you chose the portal course of your career? Maybe you could use your experience in some other field in a better way? What do you think about it?

Regards Otto

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks A lot afor the advice on the same...Its good to see in the said perpective ...

However I am actually missing the SAP screens its tools and other stuff...