cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

System Crash during ERP 2005 (ECC 6.0) SR2 ABAP+JAVA installation

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I am fairly new to this fascinating world of SAP BASIS and recently got hit by an issue which I faced during an ERP 2005 SR2 (ECC 6.0) ABAP+JAVA installation.

My Installation Particulars:

1. OS: Windows Server 2003 R2 (32-bit)

2. DB: Oracle 10.2.0.2

3. RAM: 2 GB

4. Installation type: LOCAL and CENTRAL SYSTEM INSTALLATION.

I have tried the installation thrice and each time the IMPORT ABAP step (phase 18) comes, 3 parallel IMPORT JOBS runs and after few of them completes the system restarts or crashes abruptly. So as a matter of fact, the R3LOAD which were running had to stop without getting completed, so whenever I start from old installation, the INSTALLATION MASTER throws error and I had to start a new installation. then again, during this phase the system/server/computer crashes.

The minimum RAM requirement for this ERP installation is 3 GB, so probably 2 GB is not being able to cope up the pressure of the R3LOAD jobs...well, i am not sure of that!

During the parameter specification, at the DATABASE EXPORT screen I have specified 3 parallel jobs. Well, the question which I have are as follows:

1. Will I reduce the number of PARALLEL JOBS to 1 or 2, without going with the default value of 3, in order to avoid these crashes?

2. Can I still install the SAP with 2 GB RAM?

Please do help...

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Its better to use a 64 bit server (x64) for these kind of installations. You will not run into such issues then. Make sure RAM is atleast 4GB since your system is double stack.

Rgds,

Soujanya

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

For the first issue, have you tried logging in with SAP* user. Provide the master pwd for this user while logging in.

Ensure the profile parameter to activate sap* user is enabled.