cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VS2010 Crystal 13 click-once deployment without user admin rights?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all! newbie here, I've previously used Crystal Reports in the Java world and have recently jumped to .net.

I'm upgrading an application from dotnet 1.1 (VS2003) to 3.5 and VS2010, I installed the VS2010 CR 13 package to get the designer back in 2010. we're trying to deploy the application over clickonce and I've hit a bit of a showstopper bug, no matter what I try, I can't get the CR dll's to be packaged via clickonce.

This stackoverflow question pretty much describes my situation:

[http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1695546/deploy-crystal-report-dlls-only-using-clickonce-without-using-prerequisite-msi]

It looks like he never got a resolution, but that was in 2009 so I'm hoping something has improved since then! I can't pre-install the Crystal runtime without remoting to each users machine and installing it myself, somewhat complicated by the fact that I don't have a complete list of the users, and Crystal runtime is not a part of our standard SOE (changing the SOE is a nightmare and WAAAAY out of scope for this project!)

What I'm looking for is some libraries that I can package with click-once so that the windows forms report viewer will still work without requiring admin rights on the user machine to install the msi. I found this page:

[http://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/scn/weblogs?blog=/pub/wlg/22083] [original link is broken] [original link is broken] [original link is broken];

which lists a click-once installation package, but it's 143MB!!! that seems a bit too big for just some client side dlls no?

Anyone have any ideas? Help!

thanks!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos