cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crystal Reports 2008 - help with formula to retrieve lastfullmonth

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, I'm new to this forum. First post. I have a SQL query where

:month(CAST(a.LAST_MOD_DT / 86400 AS datetime) + CAST('01/ 01/1970' AS datetime)) = (MONTH(getdate())- 1)

I need to create a CR formula that will pull in data from last month as this report will be run on a monthly basis. If I use 'getdate() -31' there will be a problem with the months that don't have 31 days.

I'm also very new with creating formulas so including an explaination would be helpful. Thanks,

Joyce

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

JWiseman
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

hi Joyce,

are you using a SQL query / command for a specific reason?

the reason why i ask is that if you create a new report off of a set of tables, then you can use the LastFullMonth function in your Record Selection Filter.

i.e. create a new report off of tables. go to the Report menu > Selection Formulas > Record and then create a formula similar to

in lastfullmonth

this will create the sql for you.

i hope this helps,

jamie

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for the quick reply. I am using the SQL Command because we have to join different BOXI classes to generate this report and we can't do this from one table. Hope that helps.

Joyce

JWiseman
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

okay then. in this case you'll be relying on sql syntax and nothing that is specific to crystal...the command object is written in your database language.

depending on your database (_please see your database online help if this syntax doesn't work_) the WHERE clause of your command would look something like

yourtable.datefield >= DATEADD(MONTH, DATEDIFF(MONTH, 31, CURRENT_TIMESTAMP), 0)
AND yourtable.datefield < DATEADD(MONTH, DATEDIFF(MONTH, 0, CURRENT_TIMESTAMP), 0) 

Former Member
0 Kudos

I will try that and let you know.

Thanks,

Joyce

Former Member
0 Kudos