cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Steps to create a purchase order in SAP r/3

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I need to create a purchase order in SAP R/3,I am very new to SAP R/3 just started using material managements module in R/3.Could any one please help me to know what all steps i need to take for creating a PO.Do i require some pre-requisite data in R/3?

Waiting for your reply!

Thanking you.

Regards,

Namrata.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Trigger

A purchase order needs to be created, and the vendor is known

Business Process Description Overview

A purchase order is a legal document issued by the buyer to the vendor to supply materials or service at the agreed price, terms and conditions. The Purchase Order forms the basis for all follow-on activities like Goods Receipt, Invoice Verification, etc. The Purchase Orders can be created directly by entering all the required data, copying already created purchase order, with reference to an RFQ/Contract or with reference to a PR.

Purchase Order creation is possible only if sufficient budget allocation is there for the Fund Centers. It is not possible to create Purchase Orders for a Vendor who is blocked for procurement or not maintained in source list for that item. Also it is not possible to create PO for Quantity more than the PR quantity.

All the price components which are to be paid to vendors and requires to be inventoried has to be included in PO.It is possible to add different vendors for delivery costs. The tax codes should be correctly maintained in PO for the purpose of Cenvat availment etc.

The payment term defaulted from Vendor Master or RFQ has to be verified and changed if required.

The incomplete Purchase Orders can be saved as HOLD document and later completed and saved thru Change PO menu

Input - Required Fields Field Value/Comments

Vendor Vendor number

Purchasing Organization 1000