i got a really annoying behavior with my SCN profile. It seems like after a few days the SCN itself overwrites my profile with the values from the old SCN.
I have to change my contact and company information frequently, because of it is overwritten with the old information (looks like from the old SCN).
Please fix this problem ... it is really annoying.
if it is what I think it is, then this happens because of some special characters probably in your short bio field or one of the other large text input fields. When sending the information to our central profile service the requests to store the profile gets rejected. It persists locally in the app, but with your next login we sync the profile back from the central service and your changes get overwritten. This is a known issue and the fix is scheduled already.
Please try the following: empty Short Bio, Areas of Expertise, Certifications and Additional Info and save your changes again. Logout and login again and you should see your changes saved.
Please give it a try and let me know if it worked.
sounds strange to me. Technically there is a sync of the user profile happening at each login with the central LDAP. Changes in your SCN user profile get synced back to LDAP once saved. If there is a content issue and storage fails, then it is still showing in the user profile for the time being logged in, but next time you login again, the old state from LDAP should get synced over again.
I'm just wondering why this state should persist for multiple days and then revert back.
Nope, there is no connection. But there could be one with your S-user account and some replication from other backends. Maybe you could pay attention to what is changing in detail and compare it with your user profile in SMP. I have a suspicion it could be the root cause.