cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RFC error while connecting BW and BODS

Prabhith
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Friends, (hope am posting this in the correct place.if not, please excuse me)

I am a novice to BW-BODS integration activities and currently am in need of help from YOU experts here in this forum.

In my current project, we have to integrate our BW system with BODS and I took the challenge of doing that. 

Before going into the details of the error, I would give you some info about the existing environment.

BODS – Version is 14.0.3.273(Also BO and BODS are installed in the same server)

BW – Version is 701 SP5

I have done the following steps till now:

a) Since we don’t have BW7.3, we created a new external source in BW.

We followed the steps : RSA1; Source systems; External system ; create ; Gave logical system and source system names ; In the next RFC destination screen ; gave a program id(say SAPBODS), Gateway host; IP address of the BODS server, Gateway service as sapgw00

b)In the BODS management console we gave the following credentials:

RFC program Id as SAPBODS (same name which was given in BW)

Username - the one which I give to log into SAP BW

PWD - the one which I give to log into SAP BW

SAP Application server name - the IP address which I got from the properties of BW server in logon pad

Client number - the number which I got from the properties of BW server in logonpad

System number - the number which I got from the properties of BW server in logonpad

SAP Gateway Hostname - the same IP which I gave for the Sap application server name

SAP Gateway service name - sapgw00 (the same name which I have given in BW earlier)

Now when I ran the above created RFC service interface in BODS ; It’s showing as STARTED.

Now when I do the connection test of the RFC destination in SM59 (which I created initially in step a),

I am getting the connection error(as below).