cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP HANA Basics

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to SAP HANA and i have a good understanding of SAP ECC on HANA Works.

Please can some one clarify my doubts asi having difficulty keeping up latest releases from SAP

Option 1) Hana as Secondary Data base-  SAP ECC is still on say DB6 (HANA is OLAP and ECC is OLTP )

Load Information using either SLT or BODS into Hana Data Base  and Build Models using replicated data and consume models in BI Client Tools

Option 2)Is there a way to migrate your SAP ECC DB6 (or any ECC Database) to HANA Database  and use SAP ECC as both your OLAP and OLTP Systems   

In this case you don't need SLT or BODS

Is the second option available for customers ? If yes, why clients go for first where you have maintain data at 2 places and addition replication process

3)Say we already have BW system in Place  what happens in that case

1)SAP ECC(DATA)--->BW(Cubes)--> HANA(Migrate your existing cubes to Views(Analytic or calculation Views)   if this right-  when we want to create  a new View -Do we have to create Cube in BW and Migrate to View in Hana Studio)

I just want want to know what are the existing options that SAP Provides

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Swathi,

Please check the below link, which explains in detail on the HANA Deployment Options.

http://www.saphana.com/docs/DOC-4185

Regards,

Kalyani

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Swathi pls read

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Swathi

Option 1) Hana as Secondary Data base-  SAP ECC is still on say DB6 (HANA is OLAP and ECC is OLTP )   ------>

HANA is neither OLTP nor OLAP. You can use the HANA database for storing data(-read tables) OLAP or OLTP does not matter.

Option 2)Is there a way to migrate your SAP ECC DB6 (or any ECC Database) to HANA Database  and use SAP ECC as both your OLAP and OLTP Systems    ------->