Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Career in SAP for a mechanical engineer?

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am a Mechanical Engineer having 6 years ex. in Mechanical R&D and for last 3 years I am in pre - sales of 3D CAD software now I want to switch my profile to SAP so kindly suggest me :

1. SAP is the right option for me? If yes then which module?

2. Could I get the good job in SAP, if I do the SAP course.

Message was edited by: Colleen Hebbert - fixed up spelling in title of the word career

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

balaji_parsewar
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Robin,

Before entering in SAP consider following points :

1) 9 Years of vast experience(6 of R&D + 3 of pre-sales) which is not in line with SAP.

2) If you shift to SAP, you are not utilizing at least your 6 years of R&D experience.

3) Huge compromise in salary & other benefits (Here you will join on freshers salary)

4) Risk involved in career shift

5) Whole new paradigm of SAP for a R&D professional like you.

After considering above points take conscious call.

Balaji

19 REPLIES 19

mandar_mahuli
Participant
0 Kudos

You can go for SAP MM or PS module, and as you have some sales exp you can also opt for SAP SD module.

0 Kudos

This message was moderated.

siva_vasireddy2
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Robin,

it is good opting for SAP but before that you need to know what are the various Modules available in sap.

it mainly consists of few modules based on the various departments in any Enterprise

Module        Department

FI/CO           FINANCE

SD               MARKETING

MM               PURCHASING

PP               PRODUCTION

QM               QUALITY MANAGEMENT

Aboe are the Core modules,apart from them you have many New dimension modules which are the Extensions of the core modules like

CRM,SRM,EWM