cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Services - where does the data reside ?

former_member183909
Active Participant
0 Kudos

I'm new to data services.  We are considering using it for Data Migration.

I understand that to migrate source tables to a new system in data services you build the Source table and the Target table in the Data Services Repository.

Wondering about the process to get data from Source system to the Target system.

Assuming you have built the Source table and the Target table in the BODS Repository and you can ODBC connect to extract the data.

- Is this data stored in the BODS Source table ?

- Is this data stored in the BODS Target table ?

- If you need to produce a Material Master IDOC will you need to have all of the related SAP tables set up as Targets in BODS Repository and map the Source table to all the related SAP tables.  Then build the IDOC from table data collected in MARA, MARC, MVKE etc

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member183909
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi - thanks for the replies.

- wow !   I am surprised that BODS does not record data records. 

So extracted source data records and transformed target data is not stored in BODS.  So the repository database does not need to be sized according to source database  e.g. if source database in 8TB then I would NOT need similar size in BODS repository.

So if there is a correction made in the target transformation I would need to re-extract the source data again ? 

Also if I am going cleansing on source data in BODS, adding new cleansing rules and applying them would require re-extract of source data again.  

former_member200473
Contributor
0 Kudos

Jonny,

You are correct

Shiva

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello