Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup strategy for Sybase ASE

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello all!

I am new to administration Sybase ASE.

Help me please to find a document that describes the backup strategy for the database Sybase.

I found Note 1588316 - SYB Configure automatic database and log backups.

But I don't understand where is offline backup and where is online backup?

I was working with a database Oracle, there exists a offline backup, online backup, backup redologs.

How to make a backup strategy for database Sybase?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member188958
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Is your ASE system being used for SAP applications, or for other uses?  If it isn't being used for SAP applications, the "SAP Sybase ASE for Custom Applications" group is the place for general ASE questions.   http://scn.sap.com/community/sybase-ase-custom-applications  SAP has specific methods they want you to use with their applications, see the following notes:

• 1585981   SYB: Ensuring Recoverability for Sybase ASE
  • 1588316   SYB: Configure automatic database and log backups
  • 1611715   SYB: How to restore a Sybase ASE database server (Windows)
  • 1618817   SYB: How to restore a Sybase ASE database server (UNIX)

Speaking from a generic ASE perspective, there are two main methods for backup:

1) DUMP DATABASE [and DUMP TRAN]

2) QUIESCE DATABASE [or ASE shutdown] with direct device copy.

Both are documented in the ASE System Administration Guide, particularly Chapter 12.

http://infocenter.sybase.com/help/index.jsp?docset=/com.sybase.infocenter.help.ase.15.7.2/title.htm&...