Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No authorization to execute PAL script

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I am new to PAL and I am trying to run this simple example

create type PAL_T_TS_DATA as Table (CALENDAR_ID INT, SALES_AMOUNT  DOUBLE);

create type PAL_T_TS_PARAMS as table (NAME VARCHAR(60), INTARGS INTEGER, DOUBLEARGS DOUBLE, STRINGARGS VARCHAR(100));

create type PAL_T_TS_RESULTS AS Table (CALENDAR_ID INT, SALES_AMOUNT DOUBLE);

create column table PAL_TS_SIGNATURE (ID INTEGER, VARCHAR(100), DIRECTION VARCHAR(100));

insert into PAL_TS_SIGNATURE VALUES (1, "PAL_T_TS_DATA", "in");

insert into PAL_TS_SIGNATURE VALUES (2, "PAL_T_TS_PARAMS", "in");

insert into PAL_TS_SIGNATURE VALUES (3, "PAL_T_TS_RESULTS", "out");

CALL SYSTEM.AFL_WRAPPER_GENERATOR ("PAL_TS_S", "AFLPAL", "SINGLESMOOTH", PAL_TS_SIGNATURE);

but I am getting this error:

SAP DBTech JDBC: [258]: insufficient privilege: Not authorized

it is clear that the problem is that i don't have sufficient privileges, the PAL documentation says

that I have to have the following role in order to execute pal scripts:

AFL__SYS_AFL_AFLPAL_EXECUTE

Does anyone know if being granted this role is sufficient to solve the problem?

EDIT:

I contacted my HANA sys admin and I am already granted the CMS_TESTER role which includes the AFL__SYS_AFL_AFLPAL_EXECUTE role

so the problem is not in granting this role. Does anyone know what could be the cause of this problem?

Thanks & Regards

Mohamed Ali

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

former_member193591
Participant
0 Kudos

One of the reason why this could happen is when we try to execute the algorithm through SYSTEM user or schema; create a user and assign

Grant the required access and try to execute the algorithm through a user:

CREATE SCHEMA "SCHEMA";

GRANT CREATE ANY, ALTER, DROP, EXECUTE, SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE, INDEX ON SCHEMA "SCHEMA" TO USER1;

GRANT SELECT ON SCHEMA USER1 TO SYSTEM with GRANT OPTION;