cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Practices: What is a best backup plan on BO 4.0

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts!

I work with BO since 2007. I worked a lot with BO XI 3.1 and now with BI 4.0. I always have a question about the way to make a backup: What is a best backup plan on BO 4.0.

I know de many way to do this, but how I'm a consultant developer and backup usually is not my responsibility, but always I have to advise my clients and users.

The little summary of ways I know on BI 4.0:

- Stop the services and do a backup of repository database and FileStore folder (eventually include the TomCat folder and others BO installation folders)

- Create a job on LCM and a schedule to export a LCMBIAR file

- Use the Upgrade Management Tool to generate a BIAR file by the command line

I found that interesting post of Raphael Branger, but his the best option is to use the 360View, but that software I don't know, and the clients usually want to use the SAP solutions, so the preference is use the BO's way to make backup.

Backup & Recovery in BO 4.0

Note: I agree with Raphael about the old Import Wizard, I don't know why Upgrade Management Tool don't allow to import a biar file that same version of target. It is terrible.

Let me make a the big question: What is a best backup plan on BO 4.0?

I know that this depends of the environment and the many variables, but let us consider the general environment, the standard installation.

Thanks everybody!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

CdnConnection
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Gustavo,

You full back-up strategy should include FileStore folder, CMS DB, Audit DB, Derby DB and DATA folder.   The cold back-up should be done on a weekly basic and BI 4.0 now also comes with Hot-Backup that can be on a daily basic.  Hot-backup only does the CMS and FileStore.