cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP Content Server HA and load balancing

Former Member
0 Kudos

Good morning experts.

I am a Basis Architect and working towards setting up our SAP environment to support near Zero downtime. I have successfully setup our SQL Server databases, NW Instances and even TREX to support that model.

I am looking for some suggestions on how to setup HA on the SAP content server. Currently we are moving our SAP content (attachments to PO/Invoices, Marketing attachments etc. from our ECC and CRM systems to SAP content Server. Also archiving stuff is moved to the content Server. This makes the Content Server critical for business. Therefore any downtime is an outage for business.

SAP does not have a HA model for SAP content server(at least I could not find any information). the maxDB part does support failover clustering but for the Content server IIS services, I could not find any information. I am looking for a multi node HA model where I can achieve High Availability for incidents, like if the server crashes, there is another instance it can automatically failover to. Also during any maintenance I can work node by node without causing any outage.

we have a VMware virtual environment on windows. I am open to suggestions using the technologies provided by VMware and supported by SAP.

I know I can start using a non SAP utility to manage content like Opentext, IBM Content management, but these solutions are like a blackhole. Once you get into them, there is no way out unless you are willing to spend millions. Also of-course SAP Content Server is free and we have a single point of support. .

regards

Yogesh 

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

former_member188883
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Yogesh,

For Content Server HA setup on Windows you may refer below SAP note

Note 1726396 - Integration of SAP MaxDB/liveCache 7.8/7.9 into MSCS