Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

“Gamification during an app’s loading time”

0 Kudos

Hello, I am a university student writing his thesis from the
following topic at SAP.

“Gamification during an app’s loading time”

During loading time the users do nothing, they are bored.

The aim is to show a gamification content in a dialog, which
leads to perceive the loading time shorter.

I shall create a prototype, in an android SAP application using
GPS, free web services (weather, etc.).

Any hints are greatly appreciated:

• What goals should we seek to accomplish with this
    prototype/research?
  • Ideas what to do/show in 4-6 seconds
  • Do’s and Don’ts suggestions
  • Links to similar projects

Thanks !!!

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

0 Kudos

I know this thread is old, but just found it and thought it is interesting:

In November even that patent will expire which would hinder such :

http://gamasutra.com/blogs/DavidHoppe/20150109/233806/2015_The_Year_We_Get_Loading_Screen_MiniGames_...

caroleighdeneen
Community Administrator
Community Administrator
0 Kudos

Hi Otto, I cam across your post. It is a bit old. But did you ever create your app? If you did, I'd like to hear more about what you came up with.

0 Kudos

Hi Caroleigh,

Yes, as it was my thesis I did 2 applications: one displayed news regarding SAP company and the other offered a short game which was based on reaction time, plus I had the original waiting time with the 'loading icon'.

I have tested these 3 cases with users. Set 10 seconds in all cases without telling it to test users and they had to bet how much time the loading time took. 

I had done this test with 10 people (measured different things also, like what gamer type the user belongs to etc., unfortunately my thesis was written in hungarian language).

The result was that in average the users felt gemification 3,85 seconds shorter than non-gamificated loading time.