cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Method 'Value' of object 'IConnectionProperty' failed

Former Member
0 Kudos

I have an old VB6 app that I have been supporting for many years. The app has a form with a Crystal Viewer. My OS is Windows XP SP3, and I am using Crystal Reports 2008. The references in the app are for Crystal Report Controol 9; Crystal ActiveX Report Viewer Library 10.0; and Crystal Reports 9 ActiveX Designer Run Time Library. I have not made any changes to the viewer control, the references, or the version of Crystal Reports since 2008.

Last week I added a report built with Crystal Reports 2008. The report fails with the following error:

Run-time error '-2147417848 (80010108)':

Method 'Value' of object 'IConnectionProperty' failed

I have been able to trace it down to the following call:

crxReport.Database.Tables(1).ConnectionProperties("User ID") = <my user id>

crxReport is dimmed as CRAXDRT.Report

The code to open the report executes just fine:

Dim crxApplication As CRAXDRT.Application

Dim crxReport As CRAXDRT.Report

Set crxApplication = New CRAXDRT.Application

Set crxReport = crxApplication.OpenReport(<ReportName>)

When I put a breakpoint on the line of code that fails, I can retrieve the data from the object, and it is all correct (Field Names, Table Names, Connection String, etc.).

The code supports numerous other reports developed with Crystal Reports X, XI, and 2008 and has never failed since it was written over 6 years ago. Can someone give me a clue as to what the significance of this error is and how I might be able to correct it.

Thank you,

Jack

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos

Hi Jack,

Moved your post to the Legacy SDK forum.

Interesting you got 9 and 10 runtime to work together, it should not because the entry points for the various API's can be different and likely are for most of them.

Could be they used some new function in CR 2008 that isn't supported in CR 9/10.