cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Comma delimited string in report header

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to CR and am having trouble creating a comma delimited string in the report header. In the details of the report I have numerous records with YEAR as the point of interest. I would like to make a list of all the distinct YEARs and then present them in the report header as a comma delimited string. It is important that following the last entry there isn't a comma. It could also mean that there is a YEAR missing which is ok, depends on the records.

ie   2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013

I would like to use this same logic with a list of AUTHORS for a particular publication. I would like to put the AUTHORS in a comma delimited string in the report header and in their order of authorship.

ie Brown, Jones, Smith  where Brown is author 1, Jones author 2 and Smith author 3

I would also like to use this logic for distinct DEPARTMENTS for a particular report. I would like to put the DEPARTMENTS in a comma delimited string in the report header.

ie BSTU, STHY, QUESR, DYTU (They could be order by their location in the report.

Any ideas

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

abhilash_kumar
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Brian,

There are a few ways to do this:

Using Subreports:

1) Insert a Subreport with its datasource being the same table as the Main Report's in the Report Header.

2) Inside the Subreport, create a formula with a code that looks similar to the below:

whileprintingrecords;

stringvar dates := dates + {Year} + ", ";

Place the formula on the Details section

3) Create another formula and place it on the Report Footer:

whileprintingrecords;

stringvar dates;

Left(dates, len(dates)-2);

4) Suppress all the sections of the Subreport, except the Report Footer

5) Copy the record selection formula from the Main Report into the Subreport so that it returns the same records as the Subreport