cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reducing the size of xls exports that contain graphs.

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm looking for a way to correct the sixe of xls reports that contain graphs.  I did some digging in the resultant .xls and it seems the MSODRAWINGGROUP and subsequent CONTINUE blocks are filled with mostly NULLs (0 value bytes).  To me it looks like CRJ is creating an EMF picture, compressing it to a EMZ and then storing it as if it was still the size of the EMF.  Thus tons of wasted space for every subsequent image.  (In the file I studied it had 9 graphs and 8 40-80K blocks of NULL!  So the pictures used 618K rather than 28K!

I've tried opening the resultant XLS in POI and have yet to figure a way to surgically trim this fat.  (I was able to trim maybe 1% of size by letting POI toss a few superfelous records, but not these large NULL blocks.  About the only solution I see is to use a licensed copy of excel and this adds a whole lot of issues since the application it not run on windows.  It seems POI does not support EMF format fully.  (atleast thats what the docs said, yet I was able to EXTRACT the EMF data and view it with Office viewer (OIS.exe)

I've tried ssconvert and the images are lost.  What else could I try?

I've tried 12.2.14 and 12.2.217 with no improvement.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

former_member183750
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

As far as I know there is no way to reduce the size of any exported fily type.

-Ludek

Former Member
0 Kudos

Ludek,

What I forgot to mention is we believe we did not see this behavior when we used 12.2.208.  Yet in 12.2.208 we had a very similar issue with PDF (PDF was much larger than it is now with 12.2.214 or 12.2.217)).  So any chance of this getting fixed in a newer version of CRJ?  This clearly looks to be a bug.

former_member183750
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Matthew