Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which one is best suitable for my career FI/CO, MM or BI

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Friends,

I am working in ABAP since 8 years. Mostly i worked on FI/CO and MM.

I want to learn one more module deeply to expand my knowledge and career.  Whis is the best choice from the following.

1.FI/CO : As my background is from Msc (computer science) not Accounting. Will it make any problem for me in future. Can i compete with CA, ICWAI, MBA (Finance) Candidates? I know basic Account upto Balance Sheet Preperation, as of now i understand all the FI/CO requirements easily. I also contributed in FI/CO configuration in some issues.

2.MM: I have also gone through MM Configuration for some issues and developed most reports. Same way like FI/CO i can understand functional scenarios easily.

3.BI:  I am novice to these modules. Some experts in the forum expressed that  "ABAP with BI" will be a great combination.

I have equal passion among all the three ways i have mentioned above.  For Career growth with my academic background which one is the best suitable for me. I am planning to become expertise on that module as i am in ABAP.

Thanks in Advance.

Gajanand.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

former_member182098
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Gajanand,

To be honest, you can never be a full fledged FICO consultant like I can never be a ABAP consultant.

Your core skill is ABAP and your brain is tuned in that way, similarly me from functional background, if I learn and try ABAP, I would only mess up the programs There could be some exceptions there 🙂