cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First day in New company, How you felt !!!

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

Lets have a interesting discussion on how you felt when you joined new company. It might be first or second or third company.

but some interesting thing would have happened for sure .

Keep sharing your Experience ,.,.,

Regards,

J.Sakthikumar

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

marilyn_pratt
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Back when I studied ABAP in Canada in an intensive 6 week campus experience:      Computer Training | Lambton College - Connect  I was so awed by my instructor and I  thought: "I'd love to do this but I don't know if I would ever know enough...."

A few years later, when I was asked to teach the ABAP language for SAP,  I remember sitting at my desk and thinking: "Wow, I would love to teach ABAP but how would I ever be able to know as much as my wonderful instructors".

After a few months of observing excellent and more senior SAP instructors I realized that not only would I, a new instructor, learn from them, but I would, if I kept my eyes and ears and mind open, also learn a great deal from my students.

When I stopped thinking I needed to be a "sage on stage" and began enjoying the opportunity to be a "guide on the side", I really started loving the work in the classroom.  Instead of starting each day worried about "knowing enough", I prepped each class with the understanding that I would learn as much as I would teach and I would provide value to my students or encourage them to request refund or transfer. Instead I was privileged to receive good reviews and commendations from the 3,000 + students I worked with in my 6 years of SAP Training.

Fear isn't a useful instructor or guide. It generally blocks us from having a productive and interesting life.  Fear of "not being good enough" seems to be a very common feeling that humans share, across cultures, age, gender.