cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Excel VBA + SAP Scripting / How can I send an instruction to a background window without bringing it up?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello guys,

I need to send keys to a window in the background, but I don't want it to pop up when I do it as it may cause some errors if I'm typing something at that moment. Is this possible?

The script I'm working on converts a spool to a pdf, but when the save as window comes up, the script stops recording because that is not a SAP screen, but a windows screen.

I was actually able to make it work by ending the script right before executing the transaction, then I used AppActivate and SendKeys to execute the transaction by pressing F8 and saving the file by pressing enter, but I still have these windows popping up while the macro is running, so, is it possible to have the SendKeys point to a specific application without it bringing it to the foreground?

Also, please note that I am new to programming, so I'm not familiar with all the functions.

Thanks in advance.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

holger_khn
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello Jahir.

I had several similar request in past.

One requirement was mass convertion of PM orders printout from spool to PDF.

I found a solution where a small ABAP-Report (implemented in coding-area of an SQ02 infoset) Transfer spool data from my SAP user as PDF to a temp Folder on my local HDD.

Then I convert this PDF-files with an small application (pdf2txt.exe) to text-files. Where a small Excel VBA code got an specific text as identifier (PM order number).

So I have pdf-files with spoolnumber-naming and dedicated PM order number. So a small VBA code is renaming my files for better identification by enduser.

Another method was to write an small VBA macro which is able to identify Save-As dialogbox and fillin a specific filename and press 'Save' by using ESER32-API methods and functions.