cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on a basic concept of ESP Window

richard_gu
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hello, I am new to ESP and recently doing some researching  of this product. I currently have two concept questions, please have a look.

I realize that a Window could save events. My question is, for a derived window which has query defined on it, what kind of data is exactly it will save? are the incoming events (maybe from two or more different previous window or stream) of this window will be saved first and then apply the query and then output; or, it will apply query first and then save the result of the query into the Window and then output?

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

A, quick answer, it does not save incomming events only what is needed by the query and the retention policy.

It is often described as a data-flow maried with a sql like language.

The clauses or queries acts as filters and only the records are saved or stored in the window that matches the query. Those records are not saved indefinitely normally, but as long as it fullfils the keep-clause, i.e. you can keep them for 5 minutes or you can keep 500 rows possibly per column value.

The rows are propagated using insert, update etc. data events as you can see for example when you manually feed in some data in the studio or look at some splash code examples like the Top3TradesFlex in the Splash Programming chapter.

Thanks,

Ben

richard_gu
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hi Plujim,