cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to trim Spaces!!!

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Gurus,

Actually I am totally new to SAP Information steward. Trying to trim the spaces but unable to do can you please help me to do so as I am using LTRIM function in the Rule Expression can any one help me with the complete Syntax in the Rule Expression.

I Am trying with below:

BEGIN

ltrim($SPACES_TRIM, ' ');

END

Can any one please give the correct Expression for the rule which I am creating.

Thanks in Advance,

DJ

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

NielsWeigel
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

Hi Deepak,

as mentioned in your other post with the same question (http://scn.sap.com/thread/3604793😞

So your expression above returns a VARCHAR string, as you can read in the User guide, you are replacing leading nothing '' at the beginning of your string $SPACES_TRIM.

If you have an variable $Input_String and you want to do within the Rule Expression an LTRIM to e.g. compare WITHIN the Rule the trimmed string with another field variable, you can use LTRIM function to create an internal variable $Input_String_without_leading_spaces that has no Spaces at the beginning:

$Input_String_without_leading_spaces=ltrim($Input_String, ' ');

or you want to use the LTRIM directly in an comparison to check if the trimmed content of FieldA is identical with the trimmed content of FieldB:

BEGIN

ltrim($FieldA, ' ')=ltrim($FieldB,' ');

END