cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

connectivity problem with crystal reports.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi I am new to crystal reports. I've a connectivity problem with my oracle dashboard server. The problem is " I open crystal reports->database expert->create new connection->oracle server. In that I've given the TNS name, Username and password". It is trying to connect more than 7 hours. Never connected and never failed and no error. But the size of the DB is huge, really huge. I dont have the privilege to see the size of the DB. Do we have to set up any configuration or is there any other option to achieve calling a package with ref cursor in crystal reports. Please help.

Thanks & Regards,

Veeraraghavan M.

Message was edited by: Ludek Uher

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Veeraraghavan,

I think the other option to connect the Oracle for OLE DB Provider because size of the DB is huge.

Check this link: https://community.landesk.com/support/docs/DOC-20781

Thanks,

DJ

former_member183750
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Thanks for the link

One thing to keep in mind; CR is a 32 bit report writer and thus requires 32 bit database connections. I scanned over the referenced doc and see that both 64 and 32 bit clients are being used. A 64 bit connection will not work, be it in the main report or a subreport.

- Ludek

0 Kudos

Actually for CR using OLE DB connection simply puts another layer on top of the client so you can see performance issues. That Document is for configuring Land Desk which may like OLE DB better, the 32 bit response is correct, CR Designer can only use the 32 bit client.

Better to use the Oracle Driver you selected.

Ludek is also correct, when CR queries the DB server it tries to get a list of all of the options select in the screen shot Ludek posted. This uses system resources, and a lot of it, to build the table list for CR.