Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Career after ABAP experience

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all

I have 4 years experience as SAP ABAP Technical Consultant.
Currently working with a reputed IT company.
However , in my entire sap experience, I have worked only in support projects without much of learning.
Also, I have realized that I am not very comfortable with programming stuff since I neither got complete expertise nor the interest to work on.
Can anybody suggest me a suitable profile change within SAP but with a different technology/module

that I can take up so that my 4 years experience is utilized and also I get to move in a different technology other than abap?

How about new emerging technologies in SAP - HANA , Cloud , Mobility , UX ?
Any expert suggestions if I can move to SAP audit/GRC stream from here on?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Colleen
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Hi Shalini

Without you going into specifics of what type of ABAP support work you have done it is a bit difficult.

I come from a GRC/Security background and the only thing you have in common with security (and some of the GRC Access Controls) - I hope - would be knowing how to properly restrict your code with authority checks and proper DB calls via function modules/etc.

If you were to move down a GRC/Audit path, unless you have some specific audit qualification you would need to start from the beginning. Depending on the support you did for ABAP you might have a specific function module that you supported and could consider transitioning to that (possibly you employer might let you as well).