Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Max DB start and stop

mohitsahu
Participant
0 Kudos

Hello Folks,

We have SAP system running on Max DB database. We have windows patching maintenance for that we have to stop SAP and Max DB database.

I am new to Max DB so can someone tell me the correct steps for stopping the database (including the service stopping sequence) and starting it again after the maintenance gets over.

We have two Max DB services running MAXDB: SID and XServer.

I checked on some document that states that taking max DB instance offline from Database manager is not a good idea.

Regards,

Mohit

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos

Hello Mohit,

Please NOTE that 'db_stop' initiates database HARD stop - It is not recommended to stop the database using db_stop unless required in special circumstances where the normal shutdown does not work (db_offline).

Here are the correct dbmcli commands to start/stop MaxDB Instance:

Shutdown:

dbmcli –d <db_name> -u <dbm_user>,<password> db_offline

Restart:

dbmcli –d <db_name> -u <dbm_user>,<password> db_online

Note:

If you want to perform some administrative tasks and no user should be connected to the database instance, you can put the database into state ADMIN:

dbmcli –d <db_name> -u <dbm_user>,<password> db_admin

More information go to SAP MaxDB: The SAP Database - Documentation

Glossary -> Start

=> Since you are new to MaxDB you can check out some free training videos/slides here - SAP MaxDB: The SAP Database - Training

Regards,

Yashwanth

mohitsahu
Participant
0 Kudos

Hello Yashwanth,

Thank you so much for the detailed information. I will go through the documents. I would like to know few things.

Please correct me if i am wrong or something needs to be added in it

1. Stop SAP

2. Run cmd and then dbmcli –d <XYZ> -u <control>,<control> db_offline

3. stop service MAXDB: XYZ

4. and XServer

----------------------------------------