cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Certifcation for experienced manufacturing professional

Former Member
0 Kudos

I have over 25 years experience in functional areas of MM, PP, Manufacturing, plant maintenance and quality management, but I have not worked in any company that has SAP implemented. I am looking at changing my career from manufacturing to IT ( I know it is a bit late). Will doing a certification in SAP help me in changing my career. I have real in depth knowledge on the functional areas and I have worked with companies that have SAP .

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member182098
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Dear Venkatraman,

Changing a career at this juncture would be a risky proposition. I understand you have good amount of business process knowledge and domain experience, but when it comes to SAP, you are still a fresher. Salary would be a substantial constraint, even if you are able to succeed in getting SAP break.

Particularly, at this juncture of life, we may have to play the game safe rather than emotionally, as there must be many financially commitments moving around. If you can still compromise on the salary front, then you can give a try to test the waters of SAP. Then you may need to work under / with the people who are having age of your total experience. Sometimes, that makes a bit annoying. They are so young and dictating the terms, which may sometimes create ego issues.

To attain a very good knowledge and to be come an established consultant in SAP, it could take any time between 5 to 10 years, by the time, you would be at stage of retirement.

I am not trying to discourage your initiative, however, I am trying to bring out the possible situation. Now, based on this, you can take a decision.