cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Faster process for SAP Client delete

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi ,

I have just completed a homogeneous system copy (MS SQL Server-Specific: Detach/Attach or Backup/Restore) process.

Currently, I am doing a post processing steps. I have a copy a master client from the source system client (800) to the current system client (111).

1) I would like to know if there is any faster process for SAP full client deletion. I have been deleting the client since past 2 day and it's still 60 % completed. We have a space issue so we have to delete client first then copy the master client into another client.

2) I would like to know if I have to run BDLS. I think I don't have to since I used backup/restore process. How can I verify at db level that all the tables have the current SID ?

Our database is MSSQL 900GB.

Thanks

Mohammad Farooq

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

former_member206857
Active Participant
0 Kudos

I've personally been playing with Parallelism in SQL 2012. I wonder if a client delete would benefit by the MaxDOP setting?

I don't think you are at SQL2012? SAP only supports it in 12

• It applies only for SQL Server 2012 or higher
  • For SAP BW System there is no change, means the old recommendation of 1 is still valid. See note 1654613 for details.
  • If the server has less than 16 CPUs the old recommendation of MaxDOP = 1 is still valid
  • If the system has 16 to 63 CPUs you might set it to 1 or 2
  • If there are 64 or more CPUs available, valid settings are 1, 2, 3, or 4
  • A value of zero (0) is not allowed at any time (this setting means the SQL Server can decide how many threads it is using for the query (from 1 up to #CPUs, but not necessarily all CPUs))
Reagan
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos