cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sequence of parameter values

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi There,

I am a newbie to the Crystal arena, so please pardon if my questions are too basic in nature. In the report that I am trying to prepare, I want user to input various carton numbers, for which certain fields are required. Now, I want to assign a sequence number to each of those entries. I should be able to get the sequence number for each carton in the way it was entered. For example:

If the carton numbers that user enters are AAA, BBB and CCC in that sequence; I should be able to get 1 for AAA, 2 for BBB, and 3 for CCC. If the user provides a different sequence like AAA, CCC and BBB, the sequence number should change accordingly. Also, the total number cartons that a user can enter is not limited.

Is there any way this is possible in Crystal?

Please let me know if I am making sense of my question here.

Thanks for helping!

~Himanshu

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Rafaee_Mustafa
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Himanshu,

You can get the value from the sequence of your parameter If you have set parameter accordingly

Para1, Para2, Para3 What ever values they give you have in sequence.

If you want how user enters the Parameters like Para1 first then Para3 comebacks to Para2

you cannot catch that sequence

For this you need to ask user on which sequence he\she gonna enter

Make new parameter with sequence give him the drop down values A-B-C, A-C-B, .... 2^3 = 8 combinations

so what ever sequence he selects make your case accordingly!!

Regards,

Rafaee M

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Mustafa,

Sorry for confusing you. The total number of carton numbers that a user can input is not fixed. Crystal should dynamically allocate a sequence number to all the cartons that user enters in a particular sequence.

For example

Actual Carton numbersCrystal generated sequence#
AAA1
BBB2
CCC3
DDD4
EEE5
FFF6
GGG7
HHH8
III9
JJJ10
III11