cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching from one module to other, how will it impact on career

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi mentors,

I have 3 years support experience in SAP APO SNP.  hav SCM background as my qualification I want to switch from APO to MM. I would like to know how it will affect my career path in terms of learning, job, money, location. Should I go for certification? Will changing to a new module be treated as a fresher?

Regards,

Sachin

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Lakshmipathi
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Normally, the employer will give some basic training for those who evinced interest in new areas and put you in some new projects.  Having said that, I am not sure, whether your employer is offering such trainings in your current employment.  If so, you can approach the concerned team, get trained in MM, do lot of self learning so that at one stage, you can handle MM projects also.  No doubt, MM is a vast module and it would be very difficult to grasp even the basic functionalities.

G. Lakshmipathi

former_member182378
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Sachin,

Interesting question! Thanks!

Switching modules is not same as a fresher trying to enter in to SAP market. But many of the same challenges will be there is switching too!

In this case, you know SAP but you are no more an expert in the new module you choose. That will bring with it difficulty to find a job, low salary, effort, hard word you have to put will be much higher - as you will be in a learning phase.

If you have a love for that domain and domain experience, then go for the new module. Or else it don't make much sense!