Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proxy table and autoincrement and SELECT@@IDENTITY

roy_bungert
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hi,

I'm a Powerbuilder developer and I use a ASA 16 with proxy tables in my current project. I guess my question is better ask here as in the Powerbuiler forum.

To get the value from an autoincremented ID inside Powerbuilder, I have to specify the Identity Column at 'Update Properties..." of the table (inside Powerbuilder). This works well with standard tables.

If I change the table to be a proxy table, I always get the value '0' for that incremented ID.

I guess it has something to do with the SELECT @@IDENTITY at the current db. Is there a switch / way to get the IDENTITY-value from the proxy table?

Roy

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

JasonHinsperger
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

You can use the FORWARD TO statement to do this:

eg.

INSERT INTO <proxy table>...

FORWARD TO <remote server name>;

select @@identity;

FORWARD TO;

You can find more details on this statement in the docs:

http://dcx.sap.com/index.html#sa160/en/dbreference/forward-to-statement.html*d5e55634

hth,

--Jason

roy_bungert
Explorer
0 Kudos

That sounds good. Do you know how I can get the name of the remote server connection of a certain proxy table?

JasonHinsperger
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

I'm not sure what you mean.

The <remote server name> above is the name of the remote server you had to create in order to create the proxy table in the first place.

When the remote server connection is made from your local connection, it is not dropped after each request, which is why this works.

--Jason

roy_bungert
Explorer
0 Kudos

We have different customers with different servernames/ remoteservernames.

Some of the customers work with proxy tables, other don't do it.

So it is important for me to have a possibility do get the name of the remote server (if it is a proxy table.

JasonHinsperger
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos