cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calling BAPI_CUSTOMER_CHANGEFROMDATA1 from Data Services

Former Member
0 Kudos

I’m having a couple of issues trying to use Data Services to update R/3 via BAPI_CUSTOMER_CHANGEFROMDATA1.

I’m new to SAP and relatively new to BODS too, so apologies in advance if I'm doing something silly.

So, the object of the exercise overall is to pick up changes in the source system - salesforce.com (SFDC), if it matters - and update the corresponding customer record in SAP.

Here’s where I’m up to at the moment: in SFDC, I can change, say, the contact’s telephone number and then see the change go through my Data Services dataflow.  There’s a custom field in SFDC that holds the SAP customer number, so by the time the data gets through as far as the BAPI, I have the SAP customer number, the changed telephone number, and a few other fields like LastName, and I think I should be able to assign those values to fields in the BAPI function, and have the SAP record updated.

The SAP log reports that the job completed successfully, but it also throws up an error:

Error calling custom RFC function <BAPI_CUSTOMER_CHANGEFROMDATA1 RFC return error! F2 892 Internal error: Sales Organization does not exist in master record  000000    >

The change to the telephone number has not been successfully applied to SAP.

The Sales Organization that I’m passing to the BAPI is ‘UK10’ (which I’ve tried passing through the dataflow and which I’ve also tried hard-coding into the BAPI function), and this is the correct Sales Organization for the customer that I’m trying to update.

I read a post on SCN that said you can’t update the company level data and the personal data via the BAPI at the same time.  So I tried to change the BAPI call to only update the personal-level data (and also AL_LANGUAGE, CUSTOMERNO, PI_DISTR_CHAN, PI_DIVISION, PI_SALESORG).  This gave me a different error when I tried to run the job: