cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to connect SSAS cube in Crystal Reports 2013

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I'm new in BI business and I'm stuck in a situation: i'm not able to create reports based on an existing SQL 2012 cube. I was able to create an Univers in IDT based on this cube, but in Crystal none of my tries were successful:

1) if i'm trying to connect to my Univers created in IDT, the following error occurred: Logon failed. Cannot find DSN in connection string

The steps are: New report -> New connection and from the list select Universes, go to my Univers folders -> select dimension and indicators, the ok -> in the data source selection click on next and then my server name and user are filled in, i just put my password and click ok. But the message is: Logon failed. Cannot find DSN in connection string.

2) the second flow tried is: New OLAP cube Reports-> but in the OLAP connection browser i don't have my SSAS cube.

Can anyone help me with some hints/ documentation?

Thank you.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

DellSC
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Crystal 2013 will NOT connect to .unx universes - it will only connect to old style .unv universes created in the Universe Design Tool (UDT).  To connect to a .unx universe you would need to use Crystal for Enterprise.

For directly connecting to the OLAP cube, are you logged in with a user who has permissions to the cube?  Also, you need to have the 32-bit database client available.  You can see this document for more information about connecting to OLAP cubes from Crystal - even though this is for Crystal 2011, it works the same way for Crystal 2013.

-Dell

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you for your responses.

At first point it was a miss spelling, the univers is unv (create in UDT).