Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

downtime optimization for system copy

former_member432274
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am planning copy my source database to target database. Here my challenge is the source is a non-compression database and target is a compression database. How can i reach the optimize downtime. My sandbox database is 4TB. It is an system copy-> oracle->source system export-> based on as-abap-> table splitting

I did a system export it took me the system down time of 8 hours with 44 parallel jobs. I took 2 jobs for  r3load process for one cpu ( 22 cpus).

Now for optimizing I am going for table split preparation and I am very new to it. If you have any documents can you please share it to my email.

now I am planning to do table splitting preparation. For this table splitting preparation.

I downloaded the MIGCHECK_2, MIGMON, MIGTIME, ORABRCOPY and SPLIT as it suggested in note: 784118 - System Copy Tools for ABAP Systems

I also found the couple of notes 1875778 - Performance Optimization for System Copy Procedures and 936441 - Oracle settings for R3load based system copy.

I need some more stuff from the experts so i can go ahead and kick off the table splitting preparation.

Note: here my operating system and database are same for source and target.

O.S: Unix and database : oracle.

Thanks in advance.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (7)

Answers (7)

former_member432274
Participant
0 Kudos

Is there any way from basis perspective to run the t-codes which the tables are compressed. How can i test the compression tables as a basis person.

eg: cdhdr, cdcls are my tables compressed. How can i figure what t codes are run in to it.

so that i can do a test that all my tcodes are running better and fast 

william_nicol
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hi,

May I ask a basic remark: if you perform an homogeneous system copy (same oS & same DB), you don't need to perform en R3load export/import.

Better way, is :