Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Finding callers of function module in the workload

Rudi_Wiesmayr
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Servus from Austria!

I have the following problem:

• As a DBA i see an SQL Statement which is called very frequently in the DBACockpit's hit list.
    Very means: 50 to 200 calls per SECOND (from 1500 users)
  • The SELECT is easy to analyze and it runs very fast.
  • Due to the high call frequency this Statement makes it into the high consumers of DB resources.
  • So the question has to be answered: Is this high call frequency OK or is it a symptom of a coding Problem?
  • The DBACockpit leads me easily into the ABAP code, so the function module (or whatever unit it may be) is found quickly.
  • This unit has e.g. 2000 callers - this also can be found easily.
  • But: Which of this 2000 make the load in my system?

Debugging and static code Analysis cannot answer this question.

So my question to the trace professionals is:

Which of the ABAP tools can produce a trace which shows me:

• every call of the unit specified
  • for every user on the System (or Server)
  • with the calling program (or better callstack)

Who can help?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

former_member195402
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Rudolf,

you can try to use BADI WORKLOAD_STATISTIC for that. See SAP note 931446 and its attachments.

For example we are logging incoming and outgoing RFC function module calls into custom db tables from an implementation of this badi.

Regards,

Klaus

5 REPLIES 5

guilherme_frisoni
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Rudolf,

you can activate a SQL Trace in ST01 transaction.

After deactivate, search your table in results and double click for details. You will notice an icon to navigato to source code.