Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi guys. I am new to SAP and currently working in BASIS administration.

Former Member
0 Kudos

My question is can a BASIS guy become FUNCTIONAL CONSULTANT. If yes plz explain?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Colleen
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Hi Singh

Any career change is possible. But really this comes down to why do you want to change to Functional and what sort of background do you have?

A functional consultant will spend more time in transaction SPRO. Having a technical understanding of the system can be a good asset/skill when you need to troubleshoot issues, manage your transports, apply OSS notes, etc.

However, a large part of a functional consultant's work is understanding business process and working withe business to translate their requirements into system activities.

As with working more on the business side, communication is very important. You have to step back from talking transaction code and objects and use language to explain business impact and what it means to the end user. This style of communication is key to ensuring the solution meets the user's expectations.

So again, why do you want to transition and what skills/experience do you have? What specific module/process area/component interests you? As a Basis person, you might have a good overview of the different SAP components and modules.

Regards

Colleen

P.s. changing specialty is possible. You just might have to take a few steps back to build up your experience again.

4 REPLIES 4

Colleen
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Hi Singh

Any career change is possible. But really this comes down to why do you want to change to Functional and what sort of background do you have?