cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please help to explain me in detail about SAP Sybase ASE architecture

DilipVoora
Participant

Please help to explain me the concepts that are listed below in a detailed manner,

a) Architecture of SAP Sybase ASE

b)About internal threads and their functionalities

c)Shared memory
d)Also how does ASE executes an SQL or update statement?

NOTE: I am a beginner and looking forward for your valuable response.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

DilipVoora
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Kiran/Nicolaas,

I will be very much great if you guys elucidate the concepts in a Lehman terminology. As,I am in learning stage, trying to understand the basic concepts first in an easy way. I found the links are a bit higher and profound. Please help me over this.

Regards,

Dilip Voora.

former_member187136
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Dilip,

May be you can refer the below link: http://help.sap.com/ase1601?current=ase16

These are the classifications may be you can understand:

Regards

Kiran K Adharapuram

former_member207908
Participant

Hi Dilip,

Any RDBMS contains three important components

1. Storage..think about disk or your database or files (A file can be an image or video or a pdf etc.,)

2. Memory.. Allocated RAM to your RDBMS..think about fast response times. more memory = faster response times.

Note: Disks IOs are slower when compared to Memory IOs

3. Some processes running in the background...These are mandatory for your server to run and are called as ASE internal threads (known as Background processes in Oracle)

Others include..executable files like ASE RUN server file, Errorlog file, Interface file and Configuration file.

Technically..

1. Your storage in Sybase is Databases;System databases (master, model, tempdb, sybsystemprocs, sybmgmtdb and saptools and saptempdb for SAP Applications) and User databases