cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Non-developer, hoping for help

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hey all,

First off, I'm not a developer.. I inherited an application on our network, original developer is no longer here either. So hoping you guys can give me some pointers.He used Visual FoxPro 6 and 8 to create some programs that run off of the network via an .exe file. it appears that these programs might be dependent on Crystal Reports (v7 and v10) being installed on the users workstations as well, but I'm trying to avoid having to do this.

When I try to launch one of his applications, it prompts me for the locatin of an .ocx file, I don't know which one. If I hit cancel, I'm prompted with "OLE error code 0x80040152. Class not registered. OLE object is being ignored. Record number 137."

If I install the full version of CR7, I do NOT get prompted for the ocx file or get the OLE error.. the program proceeds as normal...until I hit an "export to excel" button in the program..

then i get "OLE IDispatch exception code 0 from Crystal Reports ActiveX Designer: invalid TLV record.." "(1429)"

If I then install Cr10... i no longer get that error.

So as you can see, quite a mess on my hands. I DO have access to the source files for Fox Pro and can create a new build, if needed.

Are there any sort of runtime setups that I can install instead of what seems to be full versions?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member183750
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Joe

There is soooooo much wrong here... I hope your job does not depend on resolving this

1) CR 7 was retired about 20 years ago

2) The OCX was retired in with CR 8.5 about 15 years ago

3) CR 10 (given (2) above, did not install the OCX