Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fresher as a Functional Consultant

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Experts,

Is it really necessary to have a certain level of domain experience, before becoming a functional consultant. I have read in numerous blogs how domain experience is absolutely mandatory for starting your career as a SAP Functional consultant. From my personal experience, I was initially recruited to a MNC during campus recruitment and got trained in ABAP. I worked as a technical consultant for a very short period of time and when there was a dearth in project opportunities for an ABAPer, I learned DMS and worked in projects as a DMS consultant along with ABAP. Then I took up SAP PM, got mentored by a senior PM consultant. Now, 2 years down the lane, I am working entirely as a functional consultant and I enjoy doing so. I had done my studies in non-IT background ( Electronics) and was never inclined towards programming. Hence, I felt this as a good opportunity to work and enjoy what I am doing. I have also found some of my friends ( campus recruits ) turn to functional consultants ( HCM, MM, PS ), after receiving internal training . So my question is, do I have a stable career path as a functional in the future? Or at any point of time, will I face a hindrance due to the lack of domain experience?

I will shortly take up EHS also. I have worked in implementation, support and upgrade projects and have received appreciation both from the client side as well as from the management. I also know a few people, like me, who have moved to the functional area as a fresher without any domain experience and who are now established in good positions. So again coming back to my question,should a SAP functional consultant be worried that he/she lacks domain experience ?