Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the next step for ABAP developers ?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Gurus,

In recent times there have been so many rumours and whispers about SAP's future course and the slow demise of ABAP.

I graduated with a B.Tech degree in Computer Engineering in 2007 and started my career in ABAP, I have also completed

SAP ABAP certification ( in the year 2008 ) and now have a total of 8 years of experience in implementation and support projects.

I request the SAP gurus and mentors to kindly help me with at least suggestions what are the core technology areas I should learn

to keep myself in demand and up to date with changing technologies in SAP landscape. I want to stay as a technical  consultant.

There are many old threads but I was not satisfied with what I read and more over the situation has changed in 2015 significantly

than what it used to be earlier.

Please suggest....

Thanks and Regards,

Prasenjit

8 REPLIES 8

shaik_sajid
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Dear Prasenjit,

As far as I know ABAP will always be there....

However if you want to be upto date with changing technologies then you can learn UI5 Fiori or HANA.

All the Best.

Regards

Shaik

0 Kudos

Thanks Shaik.

Regards,

Prasenjit

vikrant_dev1
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Prasenjit,

From how i see the changes till 2015 and beyond, SAP ABAP is surely going to be there in coming future. Few things I can suggest are :