cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SSO from IE to ABAP system

Former Member
0 Kudos

We have a requirement for users who are on our network to launch a web client from their PCs, like IE, and go to a URL (ssl) which is a web dynpro application on our HCM ABAP system to view paystubs.  They want to have this configured to use SSO. 

So which of the SSO options would be easiest configuration for this?  Would SSO using Logon tokens work?

Thank you in advance...I'm not an SSO expert and this all very confusing! 

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

tim_alsop
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

The ABAP stack supports a few methods of authentication out of the box, but none of them will give you SSO. Yes, ABAP allows an SSO2 ticket to be sent to authenticate the user, but the SSO2 ticket needs to first be created and that requires that the user is authenticated.

I recommend that you consider buying a product to implement this, as it will be very hard to implement without buying a product.

tim_alsop
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Etay

I am very familiar with the authentication methods supported by SAP NetWeaver. I work on user authentication and SSO 100% of my time and have been doing that for nearly 20 years.

As I mentioned to Dawn, a licensed product is best to implement the SSO use case, e.g. using IE to access an ABAP web dynpro app without authenticating, other than when logging onto the workstation. She asked if it was possible without buying SAP SSO 2.0 product. Of course it is, but if she doesn't want to buy that product she will need to buy another product instead. Thats the point I am trying to make.

Thanks

Tim

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you for your replies...