Career Corner Discussions
Join the conversation in the Career Corner group to ask career-related questions, find approaches to building skills, and seek career advancements.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should a SAP SD person also know some SAP Basis?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Should a SAP SD person also know some SAP Basis?

Thanks & Regards

8 REPLIES 8

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Samiran

A little Basis knowledge never hurts but I'd not consider it a prerequisite for SD.

Regards

Arden

0 Kudos

Thanks Arden. By "little" do you imply that it is good to have a book in my shelf like this book on Basis "SAP Basis Administration Handbook, NetWeaver Edition" By author Ranjit Mereddy  [http://www.amazon.com/SAP-Basis-Administration-Handbook-NetWeaver/dp/0071663487/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&q...]

Or is it a waste of money & time reading such books since I am studying SAP(S&D)??

Thanks & Regards

0 Kudos

Save your money till after you're working in an SD Role

shaik_sajid
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Dear Samiran,

Knowledge is Divine.....

As Arden said, Basis is not a pre-requisite.

First become an Expert in SD. While working on a Project you will come to know little of basis stuff and that would be enough.

But if you are really interested then you can learn more modules like Basis, ABAP & CRM.

Nothing would go for waste, on some day some time it would be useful....

Regards

Shaik

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Samiran,

For SD related authorizations for standard transaction codes as well as customized transaction codes viz., VA01, VF01, VL01N, etc., BASIS comes into picture and it is always better to know how this works.

Also, in case of any run time errors in standard transaction codes, SD resource knowing the functionality of T code ST22 will be helpful.

As Arden and Sajid said, it is good to have a basic knowledge of any module though not as a prerequisite.

Regards,

Venkatesh

former_member182378
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Samiran,