cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Displaying data from same table differently?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello

I'm going to try to have my question make sense, but I apologize if it doesn't. I am new to Crystal Reports still, so maybe I am doing something wrong.

In my database, I have several tables: Account, Opportunity, Activity, Userinfo.

The Userinfo (which are the employees table) links to all of these tables differently. So for example, an Account will have a Sales Rep with his info pulled from the Userinfo, but the person who created the account (in the database) will also have their info pulled from the userinfo.

So when I have my Crystal Report, and I want to show the Account Name, and who the Sales Guy is, but also the person who Created the account, how does that work?

What I did was link the SALESGUYID to the USERID in Userinfo, but also the CREATEUSER to USERID in Userinfo. Is this wrong?

It seems when I try to then display the information in the report, it doesn't work. I was able to work about this by adding Userinfo twice, and then linking them separately, but then I also have MODIFYUSER, and not to mention the Opportunity and Activity then also have their own set of users.

I hope this makes sense as to what I am trying to do.

Edit

I attached a picture of a part of my list. As you can see, I added only the Account table and the User table. How do I get it to display the correct names depending on the ID of the Account Manager, or the Create user?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

abhilash_kumar
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Paula,

You're on the right path - multiple instances of the UserInfo table would need to be added and Joined separately.

This would look as if each 'type' of user has a separate table.

-Abhilash

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

DellSC
Active Contributor
0 Kudos