cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crystal Report loads slow with Classic ASP

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Experts,

I have many years of experience on Crystal Reports Designer and Sever, but not with the SDK components.

Our client uses very old version of "Crystal Reports XI" (I know the support is ended) on the application that was built in classic ASP.

Environment: Microsoft 2003 server, Crystal Reports XI, SQL Server 2003, Classic ASP

Now, we have migrated the application to a new server. For that I have upgraded the reports to "Crystal Reports XI R2A", The classic ASP application was not upgraded. We have moved it as it is.

New Environment: Microsoft 2008 Server, Crystal Reports XI R2A, Classic ASP

On the new server, the reports are running fine. But the issue is with the performance. When we click on a report from the application, the first page of the report comes instantly and then the progress bar of the report runs for some time, till then the group values are not getting loaded, and the navigation is unresponsive. When the progress bar stops, then we are able to navigate to the groups. Screenshot attached.

I have checked the designer and database, the query fires instantly and getting data.

Can anyone help me, what would be the problem for the slow loading of the report?

Thanks,

Anil.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos

That was the nature of XI R2, first page generated quickly but then when navigating to the next page is when the report actually starts processing everything.

May help if they rebuild using the XI R2 runtime..

Moving to Legacy SDK forum also

Don

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Don,

Thanks for your reply. You mean re-designing reports in the new environment would help? can you please clarify how we can use XIR2 runtime.

Thanks,

Anil.

0 Kudos

No I meant since you did not recompile once upgrading to XI R2 to do so, or that's how I read it...

Answers (1)

Answers (1)