Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Swaps in Tune summary

former_member222381
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

As i am new to Basis job and m unable to analyse as how to analyse the swaps in ST02.

Can anyone please let me know as how to analyse the swaps and what parameters i have to increase.?

Please find the attachment for swaps in Tune Summary and give the suggestion...

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

former_member183707
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Team,

As you are seeing in swap column that currently it's 6 red color mark swaps. it should not be more than 8-10.

it's daily monitoring task.

Regards,

Nilesh Vangujar

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Nilesh,

For object swaps in ST02 you can apply following rule of thumb:

- The NTAB buffers (these are the buffers listed at the top: Table Definition, Field Definition, Short NTAB and Initial records: here the aim is zero swaps

- Program buffer (often called the "PXA" in notes and technical articles): unless the buffer is oversized, you will almost always see swaps here. A rate of 1000 per day is acceptable (even somewhat higher - I have seen documents stating that 5000 is still OK but I tend to be a bit more conservative).

- Other buffers: zero swaps is ideal, a small number of swaps is acceptable, unless you see that the buffer or its directory is almost full. You will often see a low number of swaps for the Generic Key and Single Record Table Buffers.

- Careful with the Export/Import Buffer: make sure this buffer has plenty of free space, because in my experience the number of swaps explodes (I've seen hundreds of thousands per day in severe cases) if the buffer becomes full.

Obviously, object swaps are not the only buffer metric in ST02 that you should monitor. Also keep an eye on the free space and the directory free entries; enlarge the buffer proactively if free space becomes scarce.

Regards,

Mark

former_member183707
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Mark,