cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change hostname on NetWeaver 2004s NW (Win2k3 + MSSQL)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I'm a Virtualization expert @SAP IT. I was aked to provide a solution for hostname change process for cloned virtual machines. Here, i'm posting my solution but use it on your own risk and sideeffects can appear too (applicable to NW 2004s - don't know about side effects till now).

1. Change your hostname to a new one (newsid for clonned) and stop SAP services with prefix SAPXYZ_AB

2. open the c:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts file and add your previous hostname at the end of 127.0.0.1 line:

127.0.0.1 localhost youroldhostname

3. Use sql enterprise manager (or other SQL tool) in order to connect NW's database.

4. NW's database is a database with a SAP systemID - XYZ and locate J2EE_CONFIGENTRY table

5. Open a query window and check the following SQL Query for previous appearances of your hostname

SELECT *

FROM J2EE_CONFIGENTRY

WHERE (UPPER(VSTR) = 'YOUROLDHOSTNAME-WITH-CAPITAL-LETTERS')

6. If this query returns results - run the following SQL update command

UPDATE J2EE_CONFIGENTRY

SET VSTR = 'NEWHOSTNAME'

WHERE (UPPER(VSTR) = 'YOUROLDHOSTNAME-WITH-CAPITAL-LETTERS')

7. if step 5 failed try to run query w/oout where statement

Best regards,

Boris Mikhailovski

System & Software engineer

Message was edited by:

Boris Mikhailovski

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

markus_doehr2
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

> I'm a Virtualization expert @SAP IT. I was aked to provide a solution for hostname change process for cloned virtual machines. Here, i'm posting my solution but use it on your own risk and sideeffects can appear too (applicable to NW 2004s - don't know about side effects till now).

Just as addition:

"Officially" it's not supported to rename instances, this is especially true for Java instances:

Note 757692 - Changing the hostname for J2EE Engine 6.40/7.0 installation

<...>